Facts and Figures

Pryor Cashman was founded in 1963 when Gideon Cashman joined Saul (Pete) Pryor and David Braun at the firm of Pryor & Braun. To read more about the firm’s history, please click here.

Gideon Cashman remains active with the firm and took on the role of Chairman on January 1, 2007, the same date that Ronald Shechtman became Pryor Cashman’s Managing Partner.

Pryor Cashman has offices in New York and Los Angeles. In July 2009, Pryor Cashman moved its New York office from 410 Park Avenue, where it had been since 1971, to 7 Times Square. 

As of January 1, 2015 Pryor Cashman has 139 attorneys, comprised of 73 partners, 13 of counsel, 3 senior counsel, 1 special counsel, and 39 associates. 

Pryor Cashman ranked 72nd in the June 2013 New York Law Journal listing of the 100 Largest Private Law Offices in New York State.

Pryor Cashman has 17 major practice groups which provide services to clients in 94 different practice areas.

Pryor Cashman and its attorneys have been recognized by various publications for excellence on numerous occasions over the years. To see the most recent distinctions, please click here.

Pryor Cashman has had a steady growth in number of attorneys through the years:

  • 1963       3
  • 1975      20
  • 1985      35
  • 1995      90
  • 2007    114
  • 2010    122
  • 2012    128
  • 2014    139

On March 21, 2007, the firm changed its name to Pryor Cashman LLP. Over its history, the firm has been known as:

  • Pryor & Braun (1963)
  • Pryor, Braun & Cashman (1965)
  • Pryor, Braun, Cashman & Sherman (1967)
  • Pryor, Cashman & Sherman (1974)
  • Pryor, Cashman, Sherman & Flynn (1977)

The attorneys at Pryor Cashman come from 41 different law schools. New York University leads the pack with 27 graduates, followed closely by Brooklyn (12), Fordham (14), Cardozo (15) and numerous schools having between 4 and 9 graduates, including Harvard, Columbia and Georgetown. 23 different law schools each have one graduate at the firm.

Pryor Cashman attorneys speak a variety of languages in addition to English, including Armenian, Chinese (Mandarin), Dutch, French, German, Hebrew, Hindi, Italian, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Telegu and Urdu.